Jumper #A2Z Challenge

Standard

J

Unfortunately, I tried to find a future invention that would suit my theme with the letter “J” but I failed. Although i know this could happen when I chose this theme and although I have worned my readers in my theme reveal post, but I feel terrible about it.

So, I decided today I will write about something that is STILL totally Sci-Fi with no recognized progress in actual scientific research. It is the technology that would enable us to JUMP. You will know what I’m talking about if you have watched the movie

Jumper

jumper-52e53a87471f7

fanart.tv

Actually it has another more common name which is “Teleportation” which is the theoretical transfer of matter or energy from one point to another without traversing the physical space between them.

Teleportation is – as I said – still a sci-fi concept. We still cannot figure how to possibly do it to solid objects let alone humans.

Actually, that is not 100% true. Last year, physicists at the Kavli Institute of Nanoscience, part of the Delft University of Technology in the Netherlands, have achieved teleportation for the first time. But not on humans, not on objects, not even on data but on quantum data.

For those of you who don’t know, there is a mystery that puzzled physicists for a long time. It is Quantum Entanglement or as many (including Einstein) calls it “Spooky Action At A Distance“. It is simply a phenomenon where two quantum particles can affect each other instantaneously from a distance. It was proven that this is true even if one particle is on the edge of the universe and the other is on the other edge of the universe. That means they can transfer information faster than the speed of light itself which we like to give the name “Teleportation”.

Will we one day be able to achieve teleportation on humans? If we could, how will this affect our world?

3 thoughts on “Jumper #A2Z Challenge

Leave a Reply

