Quotes #AToZChallenge

Standard

QQuotes

According to my A2Z theme, I shall tell the story of a “Q” invention this day. But unfortunately I didn’t find a world-changing invention starting with the letter “Q”. So, I considered to take this day as a stop and take a look at some of great quotes said by great inventors.

Leonardo Da Vinci

For once you have tasted flight you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skywards, for there you have been and there you will long to return.

It had long since come to my attention that people of accomplishment rarely sat back and let things happen to them. They went out and happened to things.

All sciences are vain and full of errors that are not born of experience, the mother of all knowledge.

The human foot is a masterpiece of engineering and a work of art.

Life is pretty simple: You do some stuff. Most fails. Some works. You do more of what works. If it works big, others quickly copy it. Then you do something else. The trick is the doing something else.

Nature never breaks her own laws.

The Wright Brothers

If we worked on the assumption that what is accepted as true really is true, then there would be little hope for advance.

Isn’t it astonishing that all these secrets have been preserved for so many years just so we could discover them!

If birds can glide for long periods of time, then… why can’t I?

We were lucky enough to grow up in an environment where there was always much encouragement to children to pursue intellectual interests; to investigate what ever aroused curiosity.

Benjamin Franklin

By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail.

I didn’t fail the test, I just found 100 ways to do it wrong.

If time be of all things the most precious, wasting time must be the greatest prodigality.

Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.

Wise men don’t need advice. Fools won’t take it.

Take time for all things: great haste makes great waste.

Alexander Graham Bell

Sometimes we stare so long at a door that is closing that we see too late the one that is open.

Concentrate all your thoughts upon the work at hand. The sun’s rays do not burn until brought to a focus.

America is a country of inventors, and the greatest of inventors are the newspaper men.

The most successful men in the end are those whose success is the result of steady accretion.

Thomas A. Edison

Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time.

I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.

Genius is one percent inspiration and ninety-nine percent perspiration.

If we did all the things we are capable of, we would literally astound ourselves.

I have friends in overalls whose friendship I would not swap for the favor of the kings of the world.

Just because something doesn’t do what you planned it to do doesn’t mean it’s useless.

Discontent is the first necessity of progress.

I never did a day’s work in my life. It was all fun.

Tim Berners-Lee

You affect the world by what you browse.

Data is a precious thing and will last longer than the systems themselves.

We need diversity of thought in the world to face the new challenges.

I hope we will use the Net to cross barriers and connect cultures.

Celebrity damages private life.

Sites need to be able to interact in one single, universal space.

Nikola Tesla

The scientists of today think deeply instead of clearly. One must be sane to think clearly, but one can think deeply and be quite insane.

The feeling is constantly growing on me that I had been the first to hear the greeting of one planet to another.

I do not think you can name many great inventions that have been made by married men.

From my childhood I had been intended for the clergy. This prospect hung like a dark cloud on my mind.

The year 2100 will see eugenics universally established. In past ages, the law governing the survival of the fittest roughly weeded out the less desirable strains. Then man’s new sense of pity began to interfere with the ruthless workings of nature. As a result, we continue to keep alive and to breed the unfit.

The history of science shows that theories are perishable. With every new truth that is revealed we get a better understanding of Nature and our conceptions and views are modified.

The Secretary of Hygiene or Physical Culture will be far more important in the cabinet of the President of the United States who holds office in the year 2035 than the Secretary of War.

2 thoughts on “Quotes #AToZChallenge

Leave a Reply

